Teardown

Energy / Grid Software — DER / EV Managed Charging · Deep dive

WeaveGrid

San Francisco EV managed-charging SaaS that sells to utilities — ~$65-70M raised, ~$35M Series B led by Salesforce Ventures in Feb 2023, live at DTE, Xcel, PG&E, Duke, ConEd, National Grid, Portland General, Salt River Project.

emerging

The question that decides it: Can WeaveGrid hold its utility-first EV managed-charging wedge against three parallel encroachments: (a) legacy utility-tech incumbents — Itron Grid Edge, Landis+Gyr Revelo, Oracle Utilities post-Opower/Enel X — bundling native EV managed-charging into AMI, MDM and CIS renewals; (b) OEM-controlled dispatch — Tesla Autobidder, Ford Charge Assist, GM Energy — routing managed charging vehicle-side and reducing the utility to a settlement counterparty; and (c) horizontal utility-DER consolidators — AutoGrid/Uplight under Schneider, Camus Energy, Voltus, plus scaled EV-managed peers ev.energy and Nuvve — absorbing EV as one workload inside a broader flexibility platform? Answer conditions: (i) WeaveGrid signs or renews at least three top-25 US utility contracts in 2026 with per-enrolled-vehicle economics disclosed or reliably triangulated at parity with or above the current Charge Manage ACV band; (ii) enrolled EV count grows from the ~500k+ trajectory implied by 2024 disclosures to >1M by end of 2026 without ACV-per-vehicle compression; (iii) no top-eight named customer (DTE, Xcel, PG&E, Duke, ConEd, National Grid, PGE, SRP) migrates its EV managed-charging programme to Itron/Landis+Gyr/Oracle at contract renewal; (iv) at least one OEM (Ford, GM, Rivian, Honda, VW) signs a data or dispatch partnership that treats WeaveGrid as the utility-side aggregator rather than routing directly. Fail two of four and WeaveGrid resolves into a niche utility-DER add-on rather than the category platform its Feb 2023 Series B underwrote.

My take

HQ
San Francisco, California
Founded
2018
Ownership
Venture-backed (Salesforce Ventures, Emerson Collective, Coatue, Grok Ventures, MCJ Collective; private as of Sep 2026)
Funding
~$65-70M reported through Feb 2023 across seed, Series A (~$15M, 2021) and Series B ($35M, Feb 2023). No confirmed 2024-2026 round in public disclosures.
Valuation
Not publicly disclosed
Revenue
Not disclosed. Rough triangulation: 20+ utility customers x mid-six-figure to low-seven-figure annual utility-software ACV implies an ARR band roughly in the low tens of millions as of 2024-2025; unverified.
Headcount
Reportedly ~100-150 as of 2024 per LinkedIn signal; company has not published an official headcount
Screen
Fast riser — founded 2018, raised >$20M; scaled-private trajectory within grid software
Published
2026-09-15
Web
www.weavegrid.com
Elsewhere
LinkedIn · Crunchbase

Founders and leadership

  • Apoorv Bhargava Co-founder and CEO

    Co-founded WeaveGrid in 2018 in San Francisco. Prior background is clean-energy policy and utility-side strategy rather than software engineering: worked at Advanced Energy Economy and at the Rocky Mountain Institute (RMI) on utility business-model reform and electrification strategy before founding the company. MBA at MIT Sloan; earlier engineering training. The RMI thesis — that utilities need a software layer to accommodate a wave of distributed load without rebuilding the grid — is the founding wedge.

  • John Taggart Co-founder and President

    Co-founded WeaveGrid in 2018 with Bhargava after they overlapped at the Rocky Mountain Institute. Education at Yale and Stanford; earlier stints on energy market design and utility-side analytics at RMI. Runs product and commercial execution while Bhargava fronts the utility relationships.

Snapshot

WeaveGrid is a 2018-founded San Francisco software company that sells EV managed-charging to utilities. It sits between the utility’s distribution-network systems on one side and connected vehicles and chargers on the other, forecasts feeder-level EV load, and dispatches managed-charging signals to enrolled drivers in exchange for utility rebates and rate benefits. Customers include DTE, Xcel Energy, PG&E, Duke Energy, ConEd, National Grid, Portland General Electric and Salt River Project — a customer sheet no other pure-play EV managed-charging vendor can match in the US as of 2026. The company has raised roughly $65-70M across seed, a ~$15M Series A led by MCJ Collective and Coatue in 2021, and a $35M Series B in Feb 2023 led by Salesforce Ventures with Emerson Collective, Coatue and Grok Ventures alongside. The bet its investors are underwriting is that the utility, not the OEM and not the driver, becomes the default buyer of managed charging as EV penetration crosses 10-15% of light-duty registrations in leading states.

Founding story

Apoorv Bhargava and John Taggart met at the Rocky Mountain Institute in the mid-2010s, where both worked on utility business-model reform and clean-energy strategy. Bhargava’s prior track ran through Advanced Energy Economy, the utility-focused clean-energy trade group, and then RMI. Taggart’s ran through RMI on the market-design side. Both saw the same operational gap up close: state utility commissions were greenlighting transportation-electrification programmes, forecasters were publishing EV adoption curves that would double or triple feeder loads in dense residential circuits within a decade, and utility IT stacks — CIS, MDM, DERMS, ADMS — had no product line built for the specific pattern of EV load. Bhargava went to MIT Sloan for his MBA in that period; the company was founded in 2018 out of San Francisco with the deliberate positioning of “utility-first” rather than driver-first.

The utility-first choice was contrarian in 2018. The venture-fashionable EV energy story then was consumer apps and workplace charging (Chargepoint IPO chatter, EVgo, Enel X JuiceNet). WeaveGrid instead took MCJ Collective seed capital and spent 12-18 months embedded with pilot utilities before shipping a product. DTE Energy in Michigan became the anchor customer around 2020 with the SmartCharge Reward programme rebrand; Xcel Energy in Colorado and Minnesota followed the same year. Coatue joined MCJ on the ~$15M Series A in 2021 after those two references were live, and the Feb 2023 Series B rebased the story on utility SaaS: Salesforce Ventures leading, with Emerson Collective, Coatue and Grok Ventures alongside, at a company that could now list a half-dozen top-25 US utilities as paying customers.

How it works

WeaveGrid ships a platform, Charge Manage plus Charge Insights, that sits between two data planes. On the utility side, it integrates with the utility’s Advanced Metering Infrastructure (AMI), Meter Data Management (MDM), Customer Information System (CIS), and — for the more sophisticated deployments — Distribution System Operator (DSO) and DERMS interfaces. On the vehicle-and-charger side, it integrates with connected-vehicle APIs from major automakers (Ford, GM, Rivian, Honda, VW and others) and with charger-network APIs (ChargePoint, Enel X JuicePass, Enphase and residential Level-2 vendors). The critical piece is that WeaveGrid can identify and dispatch an enrolled vehicle without a utility-supplied hardware controller sitting behind the meter.

Inside the platform, three loops run continuously. Forecasting. WeaveGrid models EV charging load at feeder and substation granularity, blending AMI telemetry with vehicle-side state-of-charge and plug-in behaviour. That forecast feeds the utility’s grid planners and, more importantly, the DSO/DERMS layer that sets constraints. Dispatch. When the forecast or a real-time grid signal indicates the utility wants to reshape a driver’s charging session — shift kWh out of the evening ramp, park charging during a heatwave, or curtail on an emergency — WeaveGrid pushes a dispatch instruction into the vehicle or the charger through the OEM/charger API, honouring the driver’s preferences (departure time, minimum state of charge). Measurement and settlement. WeaveGrid then measures the shifted kWh, credits the customer against the utility’s programme mechanics (bill credit, gift card, sign-up bounty), and reports avoided-generation, avoided-capacity and reliability metrics back to the utility for cost recovery in rate cases.

The physical outcome is that a Ford F-150 Lightning that would have started charging at 6 pm on a Detroit summer evening either delays the session by three hours, throttles to a lower kW, or shifts entirely to overnight, all without a driver interaction after enrolment, and without a utility field truck ever visiting the home. Multiply by the ~500k+ enrolled vehicles WeaveGrid was reportedly managing by mid-2024 across its customer base, and the load-shape delta matters at the substation level in customer territories where EV penetration is highest.

Product and business overview

Two named products carry the platform. Charge Manage is the dispatch and programme-operations layer — enrolment, driver app or utility-co-branded consumer surface, event dispatch, settlement, and reporting. Utility-branded rollouts are the norm: DTE SmartCharge Reward, Xcel’s Optimize Your Charge, ConEd SmartCharge, and PG&E’s ExpandEV are the visible customer-facing wrappers around Charge Manage. Charge Insights is the forecasting and grid-planning layer, sold either standalone to distribution planners or bundled with Charge Manage. It gives the utility a feeder-level EV load model, telemetry from enrolled vehicles, and scenario tools for interconnection queue analysis and distribution upgrade deferral.

WeaveGrid has been signalling three product-expansion directions since 2024. First, V2G — bidirectional dispatch that lets the vehicle discharge back into the grid, which becomes relevant as F-150 Lightning, GM Ultium and Kia/Hyundai V2G-capable vehicles scale. Second, fleet — commercial and municipal fleet managed charging, either alongside or through utility relationships. Third, a broader DER surface — bringing WeaveGrid’s flex-optimisation engine to behind-the-meter batteries and thermostatically controlled loads under the same utility contract, which if successful is what turns WeaveGrid from an EV managed-charging vendor into a utility DER platform.

Business model and pricing

Utility SaaS with a services and programme-operations wrap. Contracts are typically three-to-five-year, priced with a mix of programme setup fees, per-enrolled-vehicle recurring fees, and outcome-based components tied to the utility’s regulator-approved recovery mechanism. Public price points are not published; industry triangulation from adjacent DR/DER vendors and utility RFP disclosures suggests utility-software ACV in this category ranges from roughly $200k for a small municipal customer to seven figures for the largest deployments. Charge Insights forecasting and grid-planning is generally priced as a separate module or bundled tier. Because rate-case cost recovery drives the utility’s willingness to spend, revenue realisation is coupled to regulatory approvals — a structural feature that makes utility SaaS both durable (once approved, revenue is inside a rate case for years) and slow (renewal-cycle and approval risk sit at the state-commission level, not the buyer level).

Traction over time

DateMilestone
2018WeaveGrid founded in San Francisco by Apoorv Bhargava and John Taggart
2018-2019Seed round led by MCJ Collective; initial pilot conversations with US utilities
2020First commercial deployment: DTE Energy (Michigan) SmartCharge Reward
2020Xcel Energy programme (Colorado / Minnesota) live
2021ConEd (New York) programme announced
2021Series A ~$15M co-led by MCJ Collective and Coatue
2022PG&E (California) and National Grid (Northeast US) partnerships expanded
Feb 2023Series B $35M led by Salesforce Ventures; Emerson Collective, Coatue, Grok Ventures participate
2023Portland General Electric programme launched
2024Duke Energy (Carolinas) and Salt River Project (Arizona) customers added
Mid-2024Enrolled EV count widely reported in the ~500k+ range across the customer base
2025V2G pilots and broader DER expansion signalled in product roadmap
Sep 2026Company remains private with no confirmed post-Series B round

Numbers behind the table: WeaveGrid’s public disclosures have emphasised customer count (8+ named top-25 US utilities as of 2024), enrolled-vehicle count (published in press coverage around 2023-2024 as growing from ~150k end of 2022 toward ~500k+ during 2024), and utility-branded programme names. It has not disclosed ARR, gross margin, or per-customer revenue.

Market analysis

The addressable market for utility-side EV managed charging is a function of two variables — EV penetration and the utility-programme dollar per enrolled vehicle. On the first, US EV sales reached roughly 10% of new light-duty sales by mid-2024 per Cox Automotive and were forecast to keep climbing into 2026 despite policy headwinds; state-specific penetration in California, Washington and parts of the Northeast has been running well above the national average. On the second, US utilities were forecast (Wood Mackenzie 2024) to spend low-single-digit-billion dollars annually on EV programmes by 2030, with third-party software vendors capturing a meaningful minority. Industry sizing pieces have put US EV managed-charging software TAM at ~$5B by 2030, a number that requires reading generously and depends on what counts as managed-charging versus general DER programmes.

Structurally, four forces move the market. First, the transformer and feeder upgrade avoidance economics: a single mid-sized distribution-network deferral can pay for a multi-year software programme, which is what unlocks rate-case recovery. Second, state-commission mandates on transportation electrification (California, New York, Massachusetts, Colorado): commissions are directing utilities to file transportation-electrification plans, creating a policy-pulled buying cycle. Third, the AMI 2.0 refresh cycle: hundreds of US utilities are into next-generation smart-meter roll-outs that will expose more granular data — an opportunity for WeaveGrid to plug into but also for Itron and Landis+Gyr to shift EV managed-charging into meter-vendor bundles. Fourth, IRA and IIJA subsidies for utility DER platforms and V2G pilots, which subsidise the buying cycle but also invite new entrants. Net-net the market is real, growing, and structurally biased toward the utility-first buyer WeaveGrid has spent seven years serving; the risk is not TAM but who captures it.

Competitive intel

Three attack vectors matter. The AMI-native incumbents. Itron’s Grid Edge, Landis+Gyr’s Revelo platform, and Oracle Utilities post-Opower and post-Enel X asset acquisition are all racing to ship native EV managed-charging modules that ride existing multi-year enterprise contracts inside the utility. A CIO who already writes Itron and Oracle Utilities cheques for AMI and CIS is a hard buyer to displace on a standalone module. The horizontal utility DER consolidators. Schneider Electric’s AutoGrid (post May 2022 acquisition) and Uplight (Schneider-controlled with a large utility-customer footprint) are packaging EV managed-charging inside a broader DER and customer-engagement bundle; Camus Energy is doing the same from a grid-operations angle. WeaveGrid is more focused on EV and can go deeper on OEM integrations, but a Uplight-style utility relationship gets renewed on an EE-programme cycle, not on the tighter EV-specific budget. The OEM-controlled dispatch stack. Tesla’s Autobidder-style aggregation, Ford’s Charge Assist, GM Energy (which announced a direct partnership with PG&E on V2H in Mar 2023) and Rivian’s connected-charging back-end all point at a world where the OEM controls the vehicle-side dispatch and monetises directly with utilities or wholesale markets. If OEMs make managed charging a factory-installed feature, the utility-side aggregator’s job compresses to settlement and compliance.

Pure-play peers matter too. ev.energy (UK-founded, US expansion; raised a National Grid Partners-led Series B in Mar 2024) is the most direct product competitor at the managed-charging layer, more consumer-app forward. Nuvve (public, NASDAQ: NVVE) is small and stressed but has a longer V2G track record. Voltus competes for utility flexibility wallet from an ISO-market angle. GridPoint and Optiwatt overlap at the edges — GridPoint on commercial DER, Optiwatt on consumer EV app.

History and evolution

The dated timeline above catches the milestones; three inflection points deserve reading behind. First, the 2020 DTE Energy launch: it validated that a utility would let a Series-A-stage software company sit at the intersection of AMI data and OEM APIs — the reference sale that unlocked every subsequent RFP. Second, the Feb 2023 Salesforce Ventures-led Series B: it repositioned WeaveGrid from a climate-tech company to a utility-SaaS company in the eyes of enterprise buyers, and gave the company balance-sheet room to invest ahead of revenue in OEM integrations, forecasting engineering, and V2G. Third, the 2024 Duke and Salt River Project wins: they extended the customer footprint out of coastal-progressive and Midwest-Colorado footholds into the Southeast and desert Southwest, which is where EV penetration was slower but transformer-upgrade economics were increasingly acute. The stumbles are less public — utility sales cycles are slow, customer wins occasionally slip from announcement to programme go-live, and OEM API disputes (particularly with Tesla, which has historically kept its dispatch stack closed) are a recurring operational drag.

What people say

The case for. Utility trade press (Utility Dive, Canary Media, Wood Mackenzie / Grid Edge Innovation Network coverage 2022-2024) has been consistently constructive on the WeaveGrid model — utility-first positioning, real customer references, and the ability to speak both utility-operations language and OEM API language, which is a rarer combination than it sounds. Employee reviews on Glassdoor emphasise mission-driven culture, technical calibre and the substance of the customer work; the company has attracted a policy-and-engineering hybrid team that mirrors the founders’ pedigree. Its board and investor bench (Salesforce Ventures for enterprise-SaaS chops, Emerson Collective for policy and utility relationships, Coatue for growth-stage discipline, Grok Ventures for climate depth, MCJ Collective for early conviction) reads as unusually well-matched for the specific market it is selling into. In practical utility RFPs, WeaveGrid competes on depth of OEM coverage, quality of forecasting, and reference deployments — three axes where its lead is real.

The complaints. Four recurring critiques. OEM API dependence. WeaveGrid’s dispatch runs on connected-vehicle APIs it does not own; if a major OEM changes terms, throttles data access, or (as Tesla has periodically done) locks its stack, WeaveGrid’s product coverage on that make degrades overnight. Long, regulator-mediated sales cycles. Utility sales are slow at the front end, then slower still through the state-commission approval and rate-case cycle; the operational tempo mismatches Series-B-scale burn assumptions. Charger-network API concentration. ChargePoint, Enel X (whose US assets migrated toward Oracle in 2023), Enphase and residential Level-2 vendors are the surface WeaveGrid must integrate; a small number of counterparties hold a large share of the charger population, which is a supply-side concentration risk. Rate-case and regulatory recovery risk. WeaveGrid revenue realisation depends on the utility’s cost-recovery mechanism holding up at the commission; if a commission balks (as several have in adjacent DR/DER cases), the utility’s willingness to pay for a follow-on programme cycle compresses. Employee reviews are not uniformly rosy either — Glassdoor entries during 2023-2024 flagged pace and expectation-setting under Series-B growth, though the sample size is small.

Outlook: the open question

The verdict is: WeaveGrid has bought itself the strongest US utility-side reference sheet of any pure-play EV managed-charging vendor, and the 2026-2027 test is whether that translates into either (a) durable per-vehicle economics as enrolled-EV count crosses 1M, or (b) a broadening of the product beyond EV into a utility DER platform, before the AMI-native incumbents and OEM-dispatch stacks close the window. The bull case is straightforward: eight+ top-25 US utilities on the sheet, utility-branded programmes that live inside state-commission-approved recovery mechanisms, an unusually well-matched investor bench post the Salesforce Ventures Series B, and a product surface that can plausibly extend from EVs to behind-the-meter batteries and heat pumps on the same utility contract.

The bear case has three legs. First, encroachment by AMI vendors — Itron and Landis+Gyr have every incentive to ship a “good enough” EV module inside their next-gen meter platform, and Oracle Utilities has both the Opower installed base and the acquired Enel X assets from 2023 to lean on. Second, OEM-controlled dispatch — a Tesla-, Ford- or GM-driven world where managed charging is a factory feature and the utility is a settlement counterparty compresses WeaveGrid’s aggregator role. Third, horizontal DER consolidation — Schneider’s AutoGrid/Uplight combo, Camus Energy’s grid-operations play and Voltus’s wholesale-VPP angle can each absorb EV managed-charging as one workload inside a broader utility deal.

Falsifiable conditions in the frontmatter’s openQuestion: three top-25 utility contracts signed or renewed at unit economics that hold, enrolled EV count >1M by year-end 2026 without per-vehicle ACV compression, no top-eight named customer migrating away at renewal, and at least one OEM partnership treating WeaveGrid as the utility-side aggregator rather than routing directly. Two of four fail and the company resolves into a specialist DER add-on that a Schneider, Oracle or Itron could tuck under $250M; three or four hold and WeaveGrid is the category platform its Series B underwrote.

How to attack it

Attack the utility dependency, not the utility relationship. WeaveGrid’s whole thesis assumes the utility is the buyer. The most credible attack skips the utility entirely: an OEM-native charging control stack — call it Tesla Fleet Autobidder for every automaker — that gives Ford, GM, Rivian, Honda, VW and Hyundai/Kia a factory-installed managed-charging feature and monetises directly against wholesale markets, ISO capacity payments, and driver-side incentives. The wedge is real because two things are true simultaneously: (a) OEMs already control the vehicle-side APIs that WeaveGrid depends on, and (b) ISO market participation for aggregated distributed resources — FERC Order 2222 — is progressively opening. A seed-stage team with OEM relationships, ISO market plumbing and a driver app can undercut the utility-side aggregator on both economics (higher $/kWh from wholesale than utility bill credits in many markets) and control (no state-commission approval cycle).

The specific weaknesses to exploit: OEM API concentration risk (WeaveGrid depends on APIs it doesn’t own; own them or replace them with vehicle-side firmware and the aggregator is disintermediated); no direct consumer relationship (WeaveGrid’s driver surface is utility-branded — a challenger with a strong consumer app owns retention); procurement-cycle exposure (utility RFP-to-programme takes 12-24 months plus commission approval; a challenger going wholesale-market direct compresses that to weeks); regulatory recovery risk (WeaveGrid revenue is trapped inside rate-case recovery; a wholesale-market challenger has no such dependency); narrow asset scope (EV-only means one workload, and a horizontal DER-flex API across BTM batteries, heat pumps and water heaters — same driver-side buyer — is broader than WeaveGrid’s current utility contract permits). A second, complementary attack is the driver-side VPP — Optiwatt-style consumer-app aggregation that signs up drivers directly, aggregates them into a wholesale-market bid or a utility-side VPP contract, and monetises through revenue share with the driver. That path attacks the same weaknesses from the demand side.

Adjacent-segment play

The same forecasting-and-dispatch engine WeaveGrid built for EVs, sold to the same utility buyer, extends naturally to behind-the-meter batteries, heat pumps, smart water heaters and thermostatically controlled loads. The utility DER platform market — where AutoGrid/Uplight and Camus Energy already operate — is materially larger than EV managed-charging alone, and the fixed cost of the utility relationship WeaveGrid has already paid is the same. The specific play: repackage Charge Manage and Charge Insights as a horizontal utility DER-flex platform that treats EVs, home batteries, heat pumps and water heaters as one optimisation problem, with a single settlement layer against the utility’s rate-case recovery. Utility programme managers already want one throat to choke across DER programmes; WeaveGrid could plausibly capture that.

A second adjacent-segment play sits on the OEM side. WeaveGrid’s OEM integrations — Ford, GM, Rivian, Honda, VW — are a real asset that could be spun out as a horizontal fleet-electrification data platform, sold not to utilities but to fleet operators, corporate sustainability teams, insurance carriers underwriting EV fleets, and financing platforms. Same integrations, different buyer, different economics (per-vehicle SaaS not utility programme fee). If WeaveGrid does not chase that, an entrant with vehicle-API depth will. The risk to WeaveGrid taking either path is opportunity cost: the utility-first customer base is finally paying back, and diverting engineering into DER-horizontal or fleet-horizontal both extends the sales-cycle horizon before the AMI-native and OEM-dispatch attacks land.

Sources and further reading

Capital history

DateRoundAmountValuationLead(s)
2018-2019 Seed Undisclosed (~$3-5M range, reported) Not disclosed MCJ Collective (then MyClimateJourney) and a group of climate-tech angels. First institutional check into the utility-software thesis.
2021 Series A ~$15M Not disclosed MCJ Collective and Coatue jointly led per company/press coverage. Followed the first DTE and Xcel commercial deployments.
2023-02 Series B $35M Not publicly re-marked Salesforce Ventures led; Emerson Collective, Coatue, Grok Ventures, MCJ Collective participated. Announced Feb 2023.

Investors / owners: Salesforce Ventures, Emerson Collective, Coatue, Grok Ventures, MCJ Collective, Climate-tech angels (undisclosed)

Competitive set

  • AutoGrid (Schneider Electric) — The scaled utility DER platform; Schneider Electric acquired AutoGrid in May 2022 (announced) and integrated it into its utility flexibility stack. AutoGrid Flex overlaps directly with WeaveGrid on utility-facing VPP/managed-charging. Schneider brings distribution-relationship reach WeaveGrid does not have.
  • Uplight — Utility customer-engagement and DER platform, majority-owned by Schneider/ESCO Investors. Sells energy-efficiency and DER programme software to hundreds of North American utilities. Has been adding EV managed-charging modules; competes for the same programme-manager relationship inside the utility.
  • ev.energy — UK-founded EV managed-charging platform (~$40M+ raised through 2023-2024, including a Series B led by National Grid Partners in Mar 2024 per company release). Direct competitor at the managed-charging layer, more consumer-app forward and with a growing US utility footprint that overlaps WeaveGrid at RFP time.
  • Camus Energy — US grid-orchestration platform (~$16M+ raised) focused on distribution-grid situational awareness and DER dispatch. Not a pure EV play but pitches utilities on a broader operational layer that could absorb EV managed-charging as a workload. Attacks WeaveGrid by owning the grid-side integration.
  • Nuvve (NASDAQ: NVVE) — Public V2G specialist; small market cap and stressed balance sheet but a longer track record on bidirectional charging. Attacks WeaveGrid on the V2G roadmap rather than on unidirectional managed charging.
  • Voltus (formerly SPAC-bound, then delisted) — Distributed-energy VPP aggregator; raised roughly $200M+ through 2022, ISO-market focused. Not primarily EV, but competes for utility VPP wallet and demand-response programme dollars. WeaveGrid's angle is the DSO/AMI-integrated utility program manager, not the ISO wholesale bid.
  • Itron Grid Edge / Landis+Gyr Revelo / Oracle Utilities — Legacy utility-tech incumbents pushing EV managed-charging into AMI, meter data management, and CIS bundles. Itron with its Grid Edge platform, Landis+Gyr with the Revelo meter platform, and Oracle Utilities post-Opower are the three that most directly threaten the utility-first wedge by shipping native EV modules that ride existing enterprise contracts.
  • Tesla Autobidder / Ford Charge Assist / GM Energy — Vehicle-OEM dispatch stacks that skip the utility. Tesla runs Autobidder-style aggregation with direct wholesale participation in some markets; Ford and GM have signed direct utility partnerships (e.g. GM-PG&E V2H pilot announced Mar 2023). If OEMs make managed charging a factory feature, the utility-side platform layer contracts.
  • Enel X / GridPoint / Optiwatt — Adjacent EV energy-services players. Enel X (parts of its US business sold to Oracle in 2023) had a large managed-charging book; GridPoint is a commercial-facility DER story that went public via SPAC and has traded down; Optiwatt is a consumer-app EV smart-charging tool. WeaveGrid competes with the first for utility contracts and with the third for the driver-experience surface.