Retail / Building Supply POS · Deep dive
Rundoo
An AI-first system of record for 500+ independent paint, hardware, lawn & garden and farm & feed stores — betting a vertical SaaS wedge can migrate the mom-and-pop supply base off Epicor and ECI before the incumbents ship agents of their own.
emerging
The question that decides it: **The answer depends on migration velocity and payments take-rate durability.** The bull case is true if Rundoo can pull 100-150 supply stores per quarter off Epicor Eagle / Prophet 21 and ECI Spruce / RockSolid MAX / Bistrack over the next 24 months, hold Stripe-integrated payments at a spread wide enough to cover a $200-500/month SaaS list price, and get Dooey into daily workflows before Epicor and ECI ship their own agents on top of the incumbent ledger. The bear case is true if switching costs (30+ years of supplier catalogs, EDI feeds, and cooperative pricing files inside Eagle/Spruce) slow migrations to 20-40 stores per quarter while Ace's own POS division and Do it Best's proprietary stack tighten co-op integrations, leaving Rundoo as a well-liked but sub-scale vertical SaaS with a payments line that Toast or Shopify can undercut.
My take
- HQ
- Redwood City, California (with a GTM office in River North, Chicago)
- Founded
- 2021
- Ownership
- VC-backed (Series B Aug 19, 2026)
- Funding
- $48M total; $30M Series B led by Battery Ventures Aug 19, 2026, prior Bessemer/CRV Series A ~$11M in 2024, plus ~$7M across a 2021 pre-seed and seed
- Valuation
- Undisclosed on the Aug 2026 Series B
- Revenue
- Undisclosed. 500+ stores at typical vertical-SaaS supply-store price points ($200-500/mo per location plus payments spread) implies ARR in the $3-8M range on subscription alone, with payments GMV meaningfully larger — Battery's investment memo would price on payments attach, not seat count
- Headcount
- ~60-90 (LinkedIn shows 11-50 range through mid-2026 but the Series B press release calls out engineering hiring in Redwood City and GTM hiring in Chicago; PitchBook 2026 profile suggests headcount is materially north of the LinkedIn band)
- Screen
- Bucket 4 Early breakout — founded past 3 years and raised $8M+
- Published
- 2026-08-26
- Web
- www.rundoo.com
- Elsewhere
- LinkedIn · Crunchbase
Founders and leadership
-
Nick Hershey Co-founder & CEO
Stanford math major who spent his post-college years as a hedge fund trader before deciding, per press interviews, to focus on 'the real economy.' Started Rundoo in 2021 with his college roommate Andrew Beckman. The pitch is a familiar Stanford-to-vertical-SaaS pattern (Toast, Faire, ServiceTitan) — a quantitatively trained founder who chose a category legacy software abandoned rather than one every other founder is chasing.
-
Andrew Beckman Co-founder & CTO
Stanford CS; several years as a Silicon Valley software engineer before teaming up with Hershey. Owns the technical architecture — the modern web stack (Go, React, TypeScript per the Chicago Staff Full-Stack Engineer job posting) that lets Rundoo ship agent features on top of a live ledger rather than bolt them on to a 30-year-old Windows codebase like the incumbents have to.
Snapshot
Rundoo is a five-year-old, Redwood City–based vertical SaaS company selling an AI-first system of record — POS, ecommerce, CRM, loyalty, general ledger, inventory and Stripe-integrated payments — to independent paint, hardware, lawn & garden, and farm & feed stores. On August 19, 2026 it closed a $30M Series B led by Battery Ventures with Bessemer and CRV following on, bringing total capital to $48M and reported customer count to more than 500 stores across the US, Canada and the Caribbean. Its central differentiator is Dooey, an AI agent that writes purchase orders from sales velocity, weather and known landscaper bids, and hands owners a plain-English end-of-day recap. The bet: the two-vendor Epicor / ECI grip on this base is finally cracking, and a modern web stack with agent-first workflows is the wedge that pulls stores off.
Founding story
Nick Hershey studied math at Stanford, roomed with computer-science major Andrew Beckman, and took the quant-friendly path out — a hedge-fund trading seat. Beckman went into Silicon Valley software engineering. Press interviews around the 2026 Series B put the pivot in Hershey’s own framing: after several years in markets he wanted to work in “the real economy,” and independent building-supply retail was as real as it got — a category everyone in tech had walked past for two decades because it looked small, physical and unglamorous.
They started Rundoo in 2021. The founder-market fit is not the standard story (neither had run a hardware store), but the wedge insight was correct: the systems these owners actually run on — Epicor Eagle, ECI Spruce, RockSolid MAX, Paladin — were architected in the 1990s, run on Windows servers in the back office, and are owned by private-equity holdcos (CD&R for Epicor, Leonard Green for ECI) that had extracted margin for a decade by keeping the codebase alive rather than rewriting it. Bessemer led a seed, then a Series A alongside CRV in 2024 at roughly $11M, and Battery Ventures came in on the $30M Series B on August 19, 2026 with General Partner Michael Brown taking a board seat.
How it works
An independent paint or hardware store running Rundoo operates the whole business through one web application. At the front counter, cashiers ring transactions through a browser-based POS that handles per-customer pricing tiers, contractor charge accounts with autopay, split-tender, color-match SKUs for paint, and per-linear-foot pricing for lumber and rope. On the back end, the same platform runs the general ledger, inventory (including automatic reorders driven by Dooey), a purchasing module with EDI-style feeds to hardware wholesalers, an ecommerce storefront, loyalty programs, and CRM. Payments are processed through Stripe under Rundoo’s contract; the store owner does not have to procure a separate processor.
Dooey is the layer that makes the product feel different from a modern-UI reskin of Eagle. Owners can tell Dooey what they are thinking about — a rain forecast, an upcoming landscaper job, a supplier promotion — and it drafts a purchase order against actual sales velocity. Every evening it emails or messages the owner a plain-language recap: top sellers, new customers, unusual returns, and any item that sold below the margin the owner had set. That last capability — a system that watches margin discipline overnight instead of asking the owner to run a report the next week — is the one hardware-store owners quote back in Rundoo’s own case studies.
Product and business overview
The platform ships as one bundle rather than modules a store buys separately: POS, ecommerce, ERP/general ledger, inventory and purchasing, CRM, loyalty, and the Dooey AI agent. The vertical configurations are the sales surface — Rundoo publishes discrete industry pages for hardware, paint, lawn & garden, farm & feed and lumber, each with the specific workflows (paint-color mixing, contractor accounts, feed-mix pricing, lumber tally sheets) baked in. Two companion mobile apps ride on top: a Staff app for shelf tasks and inventory counts, and a Customer app for contractors to see accounts, invoices and re-order lists.
Payments is the second product line, embedded rather than sold. Rundoo routes card, ACH and contractor autopay through Stripe with Rundoo as the platform account; the store never contracts with a third-party processor. That structure is what turns Rundoo from a $200-500/month SaaS into a payments-plus-SaaS business — and it is the line Battery Ventures is almost certainly underwriting on.
Business model and pricing
Rundoo does not publish a public price list on rundoo.ai/pricing; the page is a “book a demo” gate that promises a written quote scoped to the store’s location count, register count and module use. Public discussion of comparable vertical POS (Lightspeed Retail, Shopify POS Pro, ECI Spruce quotes surfaced in trade press) puts the software subscription in the $200-500 per location per month band, with add-ons (extra registers, ecommerce, advanced reporting) layered on and Stripe-based payments processed at a spread over interchange. On 500 stores at that band the pure-SaaS ARR sits in the $3-8M range; payments, at typical hardware-store average tickets in the low three figures and monthly card GMV per store often in the six figures, is a materially larger line even at a thin spread. Rundoo has not disclosed a revenue number and no third-party estimate (Latka, Sacra, PitchBook) has published a public figure as of August 2026.
Traction over time
Rundoo’s own disclosed metric is customer count: it went from launch in 2021 to “more than 500 supply stores across the U.S., Canada and the Caribbean” at the Series B in August 2026. Prior press through 2024-2025 put the number in the low hundreds, implying roughly a doubling in 2025-2026. Categories covered expanded from a paint / hardware start to include lawn & garden, farm & feed and lumber by 2026. Capital: ~$2M pre-seed in 2021, ~$5M seed in 2022-2023, ~$11M Series A in 2024 (Bessemer and CRV), $30M Series B on August 19, 2026 (Battery led, prior investors participated). Headcount: LinkedIn shows the company in the 11-50 band through mid-2026, but the Series B press release explicitly earmarks the $30M for engineering hires in Redwood City and GTM hires in Chicago, so a plausible ramp is toward 100-150 by end of 2027. No revenue, GMV, retention or gross-margin numbers have been disclosed.
Market analysis
The US hardware stores retail market is estimated by Mordor Intelligence at $724.7B in 2026, growing to $799.7B by 2031 at roughly 2% CAGR — a low-growth, share-shift market rather than a green field. Structurally, the independent share is defended by two cooperatives: Ace Hardware operates roughly 4,900 US stores (of ~6,000 worldwide, mostly independently owned), and Do it Best runs about 3,200 US stores. Do it Best’s 2024 acquisition of a bankrupt True Value consolidated the co-op landscape and put thousands more independents under Do it Best’s roof, making the cooperative buying-and-technology channel more concentrated than it has ever been. Paint (Sherwin-Williams, Benjamin Moore dealers), lawn & garden (independent nurseries), and farm & feed (regional farm supply, ~5,000-8,000 US stores) sit alongside as adjacent fragmentation Rundoo has now claimed on its industry pages.
The addressable installed base for a vertical POS in this space is on the order of 20,000-30,000 independent stores across paint, hardware, LBM, garden and feed — a serviceable market where each account, fully attached with payments, is a five-figure ARR customer. Structural forces moving the market Rundoo’s way: (1) Eagle and Spruce codebases are aging and PE-owned holdcos have not funded rewrites at pace, (2) co-op tech mandates are shifting from “must integrate” to “we recommend a shortlist,” which lets challengers onto that list, and (3) contractor-facing charge accounts and mobile-first workflows are things the old stacks cannot ship without a rewrite.
Competitive intel
Epicor Eagle is the target. It is embedded in thousands of Ace and Do it Best stores through co-op partnerships extended and expanded in 2020 and 2022 respectively, sits on a decades-old codebase, and — critically for Rundoo’s positioning — its owner CD&R took Epicor private for $4.7B in 2020 with a mandate to compound margin, not reinvent the product. Vetter Lumber owner Jason Kinsinger’s line to Rundoo — that Eagle wanted “two grand just to turn an option on” — is exactly the sales narrative Hershey wants.
Epicor Prophet 21 is the distribution-focused ERP; Rundoo does not attack it today but the natural adjacent-segment move is directly into its base.
ECI Spruce, BisTrack and RockSolid MAX are the ECI Software Solutions trio. ECI is owned by Leonard Green Partners alongside Genstar / Silversmith and, like Epicor, was taken out in 2020. RockSolid MAX is a Do it Best–compliant vendor, and Rundoo publishes explicit “RockSolid MAX alternatives” content because that is where migration conversations start.
Paladin Point of Sale competes in a subset of hardware stores, particularly Do it Best members, at lower price and simpler feature depth than Eagle or Spruce.
Ace Hardware’s own POS/co-op tech is the structural incumbent; Ace store owners buying inventory through Ace warehouses cannot switch off Ace’s stack without a wholesale supply change.
Do it Best proprietary tools are the same story in a slightly softer package — Do it Best names third-party compliant vendors (ECI, Epicor) as the officially blessed choices; Rundoo has to earn that list.
Point of Rental overlaps in equipment rental and farm & feed but is not head-on today.
Lightspeed Retail, Shopify POS, Square are horizontal SMB POS and do not handle contractor accounts, EDI to hardware wholesalers, tally-sheet lumber or paint-color hierarchies natively. Their threat is not vertical feature parity — it is that they own payments rails and can undercut Rundoo’s take-rate if a store is willing to bolt on third-party inventory tools.
History and evolution
2021 — Rundoo founded by Nick Hershey and Andrew Beckman in Redwood City; ~$2M pre-seed. 2022-2023 — Seed round of ~$5M led by Bessemer with CRV, initial paint and hardware customer wins. 2024 — Series A of ~$11M co-led by Bessemer and CRV; category expansion into lawn & garden and farm & feed on the industry pages, Chicago GTM office opens in River North. 2025 — customer count into the mid-hundreds; Dooey AI agent capabilities productized (purchase-order generation, nightly recap). Aug 19, 2026 — $30M Series B led by Battery Ventures at undisclosed valuation, prior investors follow on; total funding disclosed at $48M; 500+ stores across US, Canada and the Caribbean; expansion capital earmarked for Redwood City engineering and Chicago GTM.
What people say
The case for. Owner-operator testimonials in Rundoo’s own case studies (Vetter Lumber, House-Hasson–partner stores, Brandon Berry’s farm-and-garden operation) consistently repeat two lines: the UI is dramatically less click-heavy than Eagle, and Dooey removes the “call Epicor or read the education files” tax that legacy POS carries. The Slashdot Rundoo listing and TopBusinessSoftware review pages, while thin, echo the “one of the easiest POS systems I’ve ever dealt with” framing. Hardware Retailing and The Hardware Connection trade coverage of the Series B was uniformly positive, and Battery Ventures’ willingness to lead at $30M with a board seat is itself a market signal — Battery has been one of the more disciplined vertical-SaaS underwriters (ServiceTitan, Nuvei, Coupa).
The complaints. The visible complaint set is limited because Rundoo does not yet have a critical mass of independent third-party reviews on G2 or Capterra — a red flag on its own if you are underwriting the durability of the customer story, because it means the qualitative evidence is almost entirely selected by Rundoo. Structural criticisms are easy to enumerate even if they have not surfaced in public reviews: (1) a five-person implementation team migrating a 30-year Eagle store cannot go deep on every customer; (2) contractor charge-account and EDI edge cases (special-order lumber, drop-ship from wholesalers, cooperative rebate accounting) are where a young platform typically breaks and there is not enough public post-mortem to know how Rundoo handles it; (3) the payments spread is entirely Stripe-dependent, so a Stripe pricing change compresses margin without Rundoo’s involvement; (4) co-op compliance certification (Ace, Do it Best) is not publicly disclosed and every uncertified deal is a store fighting its own co-op.
Outlook: the open question
The answer conditions. Rundoo works if two things happen in parallel over the next 24 months. First, migration velocity: the company must move from an implied doubling per year to a run rate of 100-150 Eagle / Spruce / RockSolid MAX stores per quarter, which means a services and implementation team that scales without breaking margin — the classic vertical-SaaS chokepoint. Second, payments attach: the Stripe-embedded rail must hold a spread wide enough to make the payments line the dominant revenue category. If both conditions hit, Rundoo is a $50-100M ARR business by 2028 and an obvious strategic target for a payments company (Toast, Shopify, Square) that wants a building-supply vertical.
The bear case. Rundoo stalls if Ace and Do it Best tighten co-op certifications toward Epicor and ECI rather than opening them to challengers, if the aging Eagle / Spruce codebases prove sticky enough that 20-40 stores per quarter is the real ceiling, or if Epicor and ECI ship credible “AI copilot” features on top of the ledger they already own before Rundoo hits scale. Any one of those, and Rundoo is a well-liked $10-30M ARR vertical SaaS that Battery has to mark flat.
The falsifier is the payments take-rate under competitive pressure from Toast, Shopify and Ace-native rails. If Rundoo can show durable payments spread against those alternatives at 1,000+ stores, the bundle works. If not, the story compresses to seat-count SaaS and the $48M capital base becomes a governance question.
How to attack it
The obvious attack is vertical-specific POS + payments, agent-first, for the vertical retail categories Rundoo has not claimed yet: plumbing supply, electrical distribution, HVAC distribution, ag cooperatives, specialty grocery, direct-to-contractor building supply. Each has the same structural conditions Rundoo exploited in hardware — a PE-owned incumbent (Epicor Prophet 21 in most of them, ECI BisTrack in LBM, DDI System in industrial distribution), a 20-30 year old codebase, aging co-op or buying-group compliance requirements, and contractor-facing workflows the horizontal POS platforms cannot handle. A well-funded attacker copies Rundoo’s playbook — modern web stack, agent-first purchase-order and recap workflows, Stripe-embedded payments, vertical-configured industry pages — but picks a category Rundoo cannot serve without a rewrite.
The weaknesses this exploits are specific and enumerable. Switching costs are high but one-directional — Rundoo has proven a modern stack can win Eagle migrations, so the same argument works against Rundoo the moment a category-native competitor shows up in electrical or plumbing. Competitors’ balance sheets are enormous — Epicor (CD&R) and ECI (Leonard Green) can each fund a $200-500M multi-year rewrite or an outright acquisition of Rundoo before the Series B capital is spent; a Rundoo-priced startup in Prophet 21 territory is a rounding-error acquisition for either PE holdco. Category size is a hard ceiling — 20,000-30,000 US independent supply stores fully attached at $10-30k ARR is a $200-900M ARR ceiling on the current wedge, which is a good business but not a public-company scale, so Rundoo has to expand adjacencies or Battery has to accept a strategic exit. Payments is a rail Rundoo does not own — Stripe can reprice, and Toast / Shopify / Block can enter with their own vertical modules the moment the segment looks worth the effort. The Ace / Do it Best co-op channel is a single point of failure — cooperative compliance is the biggest distribution lever and Rundoo does not appear to have it. Implementation services scale linearly with headcount — every migration off Eagle needs weeks of human handholding, so the P&L looks worse than SaaS-only comps until Rundoo automates onboarding.
Adjacent-segment play
The most attractive adjacent-segment play is taking the same stack up-vertical into distribution: plumbing supply houses (Ferguson, Home Depot Pro competitors), electrical distribution (Rexel, Sonepar’s independent competitors), industrial distribution (MSC and Grainger’s SMB fringe), and HVAC parts distribution. These stores are structurally identical to a hardware store — contractor charge accounts, wholesaler EDI, complex SKUs, per-customer pricing — but the incumbent is Epicor Prophet 21 or DDI System rather than Eagle, and the ticket sizes are 5-10x larger, which supports a materially higher ARR per account. Rundoo has not moved here yet; the risk is that Prophet 21 is a deeper enterprise sale with a longer cycle and Epicor will defend it harder than Eagle.
A second adjacency is ag co-op retail — regional farm co-ops (CHS, Growmark member co-ops, Southern States) each run retail storefronts on aging AS/400-era systems, and Rundoo’s farm & feed configuration is the natural on-ramp. Specialty grocery (independent natural-foods stores, ethnic-food specialty grocers) is a possible move but the incumbent (ECRS Catapult, IT Retail) is more capable than hardware POS, and margins are thinner. Direct-to-contractor building supply — smaller lumber yards and roofing / siding distributors — is a natural extension of the lumber vertical Rundoo has already claimed on its industry page and sits between Eagle and BisTrack, so a well-run land-and-expand there could double the current TAM before Rundoo has to leave building supply at all. Faire, Alto Pharmacy, Boulevard and Mangomint are precedents for this vertical-SaaS-plus-payments playbook in unrelated categories — the pattern is proven, the question is whether Rundoo has the operational bandwidth to run it in two categories at once.
Sources and further reading
- Rundoo, the AI-First Platform for Independent Supply Stores, Announces $48 Million in Financing — BusinessWire — Rundoo / BusinessWire, Aug 19, 2026
- Rundoo raises $30M to expand its AI-native operating system for small supply stores — SiliconANGLE — SiliconANGLE, Aug 19, 2026
- Rundoo Raises $30 Million Series B, Bringing Total Funding To $48 Million — Pulse 2.0 — Pulse 2.0, Aug 19, 2026
- Rundoo raises $30M to help independent retailers take on Home Depot and other big-box chains with AI — Tech Startups — Tech Startups, Aug 19, 2026
- AI-First Platform for Independents, Rundoo, Announces $48 Million in Financing — Hardware Retailing — Hardware Retailing, Aug 2026
- Rundoo Primer: A Client Story — Vetter Lumber (Rundoo Substack) — Rundoo, 2025
- RockSolid MAX alternatives for hardware and lumber stores — Rundoo Insights — Rundoo, 2025
- United States Hardware Stores Retail Market Size and Share — Mordor Intelligence — Mordor Intelligence, 2026
- How Ace Hardware, America’s neighborhood hardware store for 100 years, is beating its big-box rivals — CNN Business — CNN Business, May 24, 2024
- Rundoo — Crunchbase Company Profile & Funding — Crunchbase, accessed Aug 2026
- Rundoo 2026 Company Profile: Valuation, Funding & Investors — PitchBook — PitchBook, 2026
Capital history
| Date | Round | Amount | Valuation | Lead(s) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | Pre-seed | ~$2M | Undisclosed | Angels and early-stage funds (per Crunchbase / secondary coverage) |
| 2022-2023 | Seed | ~$5M | Undisclosed | Bessemer Venture Partners and CRV (both continued through Series A and Series B) |
| 2024 | Series A | ~$11M | Undisclosed | Bessemer Venture Partners and CRV |
| Aug 19, 2026 | Series B | $30M | Undisclosed | Battery Ventures (General Partner Michael Brown joined the board), with Bessemer Venture Partners and CRV participating |
Investors / owners: Battery Ventures — Series B lead, Michael Brown on board, Bessemer Venture Partners — Seed / Series A lead, Series B participant, CRV — Seed / Series A co-lead, Series B participant
Competitive set
- Epicor Eagle — The default hardware / paint / lumber POS for two generations of US independents, sold via co-op partnerships with Ace Hardware (extended through 2020) and Do it Best (expanded in 2022). Owned by CD&R (took Epicor private for $4.7B in 2020). This is the base Rundoo is explicitly recruiting from — Vetter Lumber's owner told Rundoo his frustration was 'nickel-and-dimed for features' and being charged 'two grand just to turn an option on.'
- Epicor Prophet 21 — Epicor's ERP for the distribution and wholesale-trade end of building supply — plumbing, electrical, industrial. A more entrenched enterprise sale than Eagle, sold to distributors with tens of millions in revenue. Rundoo does not attack Prophet 21 head-on today but the adjacent-segment play runs directly into it.
- ECI Spruce — ECI Software Solutions' ERP for lumber, home, and building supply. ECI is owned by Leonard Green Partners (acquired 2020) alongside Genstar/Silversmith; it competes directly with BisTrack in LBM.
- ECI BisTrack — ECI's business management platform for LBM dealers and distributors — inventory optimization, delivery dispatch, financials, CRM. The high-end ECI product, and often the migration path for a Spruce customer that has outgrown it.
- ECI RockSolid MAX — ECI's POS for hardware and building-supply retailers, a Do it Best–compliant vendor. Rundoo publishes explicit 'RockSolid MAX alternatives' content — the SEO tells you where sales cycles start.
- Paladin Point of Sale — Independent-friendly hardware POS often paired with Do it Best; a common name in migration considerations alongside Rundoo and Eagle. Smaller than the ECI/Epicor duopoly but sticky in a subset of stores.
- Ace Hardware co-op POS — Ace's own retail technology division builds POS tooling for its ~4,900 US locations, tightly integrated with Ace's central warehouses. A structural moat — Ace store owners buying inventory through Ace's warehouses cannot easily leave Ace's stack.
- Do it Best proprietary tools — Do it Best (now ~3,200 US stores, plus the 2024 True Value bankruptcy acquisition adding thousands more retailer relationships) supports members through both its own tooling and third-party 'compliant' vendors including ECI Solutions RockSolid MAX, Spruce Software, and Epicor BisTrack. That compliance program is Rundoo's biggest single distribution obstacle.
- Point of Rental — Owned by MPK Equity Partners; the equipment-rental adjacency to hardware/building supply. Not a direct rival today but overlaps in farm & feed and industrial supply.
- Lightspeed Retail / Shopify POS / Square — Horizontal SMB POS platforms. None of them handle contractor charge accounts, EDI with hardware wholesalers, per-linear-foot lumber tally pricing, or paint-color-match SKU hierarchies natively — which is exactly why Rundoo exists — but they own the payments infrastructure Rundoo depends on (Stripe under Rundoo, Block / Shopify / Toast running their own rails).