Teardown

Ecommerce / Post-purchase experience + package protection · Deep dive

Route

Lehi, UT post-purchase platform whose ~2-2.5% consumer-funded package-protection attach at Shopify checkout is the core P&L — while Shopify's own Shop app and Shop Pay ecosystem progressively swallow tracking and post-purchase surface, three CEOs cycle through in three years, and a persistent BBB / Trustpilot pattern of denied claims sits underneath the checkout-widget growth story.

emerging

The question that decides it: Does Route's ~2-2.5% consumer-funded package-protection attach at Shopify checkout — the atomic unit of the ~$100M-in-2023 revenue story and the entire justification for the $1.4B June 2024 mark — survive Shopify bundling native tracking, protection and delivery guarantees into the Shop app and Shop Pay flow the way Shop Promise, Shop Cash and Shop Pay progressively swallowed adjacent post-purchase functionality; and does the BBB and Trustpilot denial pattern become a merchant-CAC problem large enough that Shopify Plus stores actively rip Route out for Corso, ShipAid or a Shopify-native product before the next round has to price? Answer conditions: (a) Shopify does or does not launch a native package-protection module integrated into Shop Pay in the 24 months from Sep 2026; (b) Route's attach at Shopify Plus checkout holds at or above 40% and net revenue retention on top-500 Shopify Plus merchants stays above 100% through 2027; (c) the BBB / Trustpilot pattern is not amplified by a state insurance-department action similar to the Utah Insurance Department's 2024 alert on 'fake shipping insurance' (which did not name Route but described the exact operator profile); (d) the third CEO in three years (Eric Kobe, effective July 14, 2025) stabilises the operating rhythm and Route reprints the $1.4B or better in a Series D or credit round by end-2027. Fail two of the four and Route is a strategic acquisition to a post-purchase incumbent (AfterShip, Narvar, Loop) or a warranty-plus-shipping platform (Extend, Cover Genius) at a discount to the 2024 mark.

My take

HQ
Lehi, UT
Founded
2018
Ownership
Private, VC-backed
Funding
~$260-290M cumulative equity across seed through Series C; sources vary (PitchBook $321M, CB Insights $287M, Tracxn $340M) — marquee facts are the $200M Series B (Jan 20, 2022) and $40M Series C (June 25, 2024)
Valuation
$1.4B post-money (Series C, June 25, 2024 per Fortune) — up only ~12% from the Jan 2022 Series B $1.25B mark
Revenue
Route's June 2024 Series C press release claimed the company had crossed $100M revenue in 2023; not audited; Getlatka's separately maintained 'Route the Services platform' page (~$1.1M ARR) refers to a different entity and does not reconcile to the checkout-protection business — the $100M figure is company-supplied and remains the only public estimate
Headcount
Peaked around 500 heads; Trueup and Layoffs.fyi record ~200 cut in Dec 2022 (~40%) and ~74 cut in June 2023 (~15%), plus a reported mid-2024 sales-team round per RepVue; Glassdoor themes flag 'constant mass layoffs', 2.8/5 culture-and-values, and criticism of pre-transition leadership
Screen
Scaled private — cumulative raise well above $100M, and a rare 2024 up-round in a category where most 2021-2022-vintage unicorns marked down
Published
2026-09-21
Web
route.com
Elsewhere
LinkedIn · Crunchbase

Founders and leadership

  • Evan Walker Co-founder, former CEO, Executive Chairman

    Utah-native serial ecommerce operator. Started Netsoft at 14 selling video-game and productivity software with a $2,000 loan from his father; sold at 19 for a reported $10M-plus. Built and sold multiple DTC CPG brands and ran a digital advertising agency across 20+ years pre-Route. Origin story per Utah Business: trying to ship an antique trunk from Italy to the US, no consumer-facing tracking or shipping-insurance layer existed. Stepped out of CEO seat in 2023 to Executive Chairman.

  • Mike Moreno Co-founder; VP Business Operations & Analytics

    BYU graduate. Pre-Route: Strategic Sourcing at doTERRA International (2016-2018), operations at Blue H20, business-development roles at Alta Law Group and CHOICE Humanitarian, training role at BYU. Utah DTC-operations background rather than insurance or software. Current title is VP-level, not C-level — a structure employee reviews have flagged as unusual for a checkout-insurance business at Route's scale.

Snapshot

Route is the Lehi, Utah post-purchase company that turned a consumer-funded package-protection widget at Shopify checkout into a ~$1.4B private business. Merchants install Route’s Shopify app; the 2-2.5% protection premium ($0.98 minimum) is added by the shopper at checkout; when a package is lost, stolen or damaged, the buyer files a claim with Route, and the underlying insurance is written by SEG Insurance Ltd through Route’s licensed Utah subsidiary Safe Order Solutions. Route also runs an order-tracking product and the Route+ consumer app it claims has crossed 50M users. Founded 2018 by Evan Walker and Mike Moreno, Route raised a $200M Series B at $1.25B (Jan 2022) and a $40M Series C at $1.4B (June 2024) — a barely-up mark 30 months later, sandwiched between two layoff rounds and two CEO transitions.

Founding story

Evan Walker is a Utah-native career ecommerce founder. He started Netsoft at 14 with a $2,000 loan from his father; a $500K early software order got him to scale, and he sold at 19 for a reported $10M-plus. Between Netsoft and Route he built and sold DTC CPG brands and ran a digital ad agency. Route origin per Utah Business: buying an antique trunk in Italy, trying to ship it home, finding no consumer-facing tracking or protection layer.

Mike Moreno met Walker in the Utah DTC ecosystem. A BYU graduate, his pre-Route resume runs through doTERRA, Blue H20, Alta Law Group and CHOICE Humanitarian — Utah operations rather than insurance or software. His title is VP Business Operations & Analytics, not COO — a structure employee reviews have questioned at Route’s scale.

Route launched on Shopify in January 2019 and finished the year at ~120 employees and ~2,000 merchants. Craft Ventures led the Series A (Fluhr wrote the memo); Justin Timberlake and other angels came in through seed; cumulative pre-Series-B equity reached ~$48.5M.

How it works

The mechanic is a checkbox at Shopify checkout. Merchants install Route’s Shopify app; a “Package Protection” toggle appears in cart and checkout — copy and default (opt-in vs opt-out) are merchant-configurable. If the buyer keeps it on, the 2-2.5% premium ($0.98 minimum) is added to the order. The merchant pays nothing for the base plan; Route earns the entire premium net of underwriter cost.

The underwriting stack sits behind the widget. Safe Order Solutions is Route’s licensed insurance subsidiary at the Utah Insurance Department; SEG Insurance Ltd is the underwriter of record (policy 21-1, distributed via Artex Risk Solutions). Route holds Department of Insurance authorization in all 50 states. Buyers file claims; Route operations decides payout; paid claims can be replacement, refund or store credit.

The tracking product ingests data from 600+ carriers and surfaces updates through Route+ and merchant-branded pages. Tracking is the customer-acquisition surface for the protection wedge — Route+ onboards the consumer at delivery, then Route tries to route the next purchase back through Route-integrated merchants.

Product and business overview

Three surfaces. Package protection — the consumer-paid shipping-insurance wedge, underwritten by SEG through Safe Order Solutions at ~2-2.5% of cart. Order tracking — Route+ consumer app and merchant-branded pages, integrated across 600+ carriers. Returns and remarketing — a returns product (accelerated by the January 2026 Frate Returns acquisition) and a remarketing layer inside Route+. Route claims ~13,000 merchants and $15B cumulative protected merchandise as of June 2024.

Business model and pricing

The consumer-paid premium is the atomic unit. At ~2-2.5% of a typical $50-100 DTC cart, Route grosses ~$1-2.50 per protected order, pays SEG the underwriter portion, and keeps the residual plus claim-management economics. On $15B cumulative protected merchandise and ~2% blended attach, gross protection premium runs at ~$300M cumulative through mid-2024; Route’s net revenue after underwriter share and claims paid is meaningfully less. Tracking is free on the Standard plan; a Custom plan exists for enterprise. The ~$100M 2023 revenue figure is unaudited and undefended — any diligence needs net revenue after underwriter share, claims paid and refund rate, none of which is public.

Traction over time

DateMilestone
Jan 2019Route launches on Shopify
Jan 20, 2022$200M Series B at $1.25B, Eldridge-led
Dec 2022~200-employee layoff (~40%) three weeks before Christmas
Jun 2023~74-employee layoff (~15%); Yamartino elevated CEO from COO
2023Route claims $100M revenue
Mid-2024Additional sales-team layoff reported on RepVue
Jun 25, 2024$40M Series C at $1.4B, Hanaco-led — ~12% up from Jan 2022
Jul 14, 2025Eric Kobe becomes CEO; Yamartino to board
Jan 2026Route acquires Frate Returns
Sep 2026Third CEO in three years; the $1.4B mark is 15 months old and unrefreshed

Market analysis

Route’s TAM is a slice of US ecommerce ($1.2T in 2024) modulated by Shopify share ($235B GMV), package-protection app adoption (under 20% of stores, concentrated at Shopify Plus), and checkout attach (Route does not disclose; industry range 40-70% defaulted on). Global digital shipping insurance is under $10B in premium, but economics are unusually good — the consumer pays and merchants book protection as revenue not cost. Bull: DTC proliferation. Bear: Shopify’s roadmap. Shop Pay growth and Shop-app native carrier integrations obviate Route’s tracking; native Shopify protection compresses the addressable market inside Route’s core channel.

Competitive intel

Three tiers. Platform threat: Shopify (NYSE: SHOP) — Shop app tracking (native since the 2020 Arrive rebrand), Shop Pay, Shop Promise, and a plausible near-term Shop-native protection module. Route’s ~90% share of Shopify shipping-tech visibility per StoreInspect is concentration Shopify eventually harvests.

Direct peers: Corso (carbon-offset differentiation), Navidium (merchant-branded), ShipAid, Onward. All an order of magnitude smaller but any can win on niche verticals.

Warranty and embedded insurance: Extend ($1.6B May 2021, $386M raised) — same consumer-paid budget, post-delivery side. Cover Genius’ XCover is the enterprise embedded-insurance option. Assurant (NYSE: AIZ) is the balance-sheet incumbent.

Post-purchase adjacencies: AfterShip (1,000+ carriers, adding insurance), Parcel Perform (enterprise AI tracking), Loop Returns (Shopify-first returns adding Checkout+ and Protection), Narvar (enterprise), parcelLab (European). Each owns a merchant relationship Route co-exists inside; each can bundle protection as a module.

History and evolution

Four inflection points. The Jan 2022 Eldridge-led Series B at $1.25B funded scaling to ~500 heads. The Dec 2022 layoff (~200, ~40%) cut three weeks before Christmas per Salt Lake Tribune. The June 2023 layoff (~74, ~15%) coincided with Yamartino elevating from COO to CEO and Walker moving to Executive Chairman — two layoffs then founder step-down reads as board-mediated. The July 14, 2025 succession from Yamartino to Eric Kobe is the second CEO change in 24 months.

What people say

The case for. Route has real penetration — visible on ~9 of every 10 Shopify stores investing in customer-facing shipping tech per StoreInspect. Craft Ventures published a Series A deal memo. The $200M Eldridge-led Series B is deep growth-equity conviction for a package-protection widget. June 2024 Fortune coverage cited $100M 2023 revenue and $15B cumulative protected merchandise. Some Trustpilot reviewers report lightning-fast claim resolution and same-hour replacements; the product works when it works.

The complaints. The BBB profile shows a persistent pattern: claims wrongfully denied for stolen packages, denials citing “a repeat in violation of routes terms,” 5-day support waits followed by silent closure, Route not BBB-accredited. Trustpilot follows the same shape — mixed, with a heavy long tail of denials for missed reporting windows or coverage-exclusion technicalities. The Utah Insurance Department’s 2024 alert on “fake shipping insurance” did not name Route but maps to the category profile. Glassdoor: 2.8/5 on culture and values, “constant mass layoffs,” “arrogance of CEO and other senior leaders” pre-transition, “bro culture” as recurring themes. Two CEO changes in three years and three layoff rounds are the operating signal underneath the up-round.

Outlook: the open question

Whether Route becomes an independent public outcome or a discounted strategic acquisition will be answered by four things in the 24 months from September 2026 — Shopify’s native-protection roadmap, Route’s NRR on top-500 Shopify Plus merchants, whether the BBB / Trustpilot pattern amplifies into a state insurance-department action naming Route, and whether Eric Kobe reprints the $1.4B by end-2027 — and none is settled today. Route has real assets: deep Shopify Plus network, a licensed 50-state insurance regime through SEG and Safe Order Solutions, and a rare consumer-funded monetisation where gross margin (if loss ratio is disciplined) is materially better than per-seat SaaS.

Failure modes. First, Shopify: Shop app tracking is native, Shop Pay is the fastest-growing surface, and native Shop protection compresses Route’s addressable market by definition. Shopify absorbing adjacent post-purchase (Shop Promise, Shop Cash) is the tell. Second, complaint volume: at ~13,000 merchants and tens of millions of covered orders per year, the BBB / Trustpilot denial pattern becomes a merchant-CAC problem — a Shopify Plus brand hit by Route-tied complaints has an obvious substitution path. Third, regulatory: Utah’s 2024 warning did not name Route, but a state department (California, Washington, New York plausible) naming an operator terminates the multiple. Fourth, leadership: three CEOs in three years signals a board still searching for founder-product-market fit; without a $1.4B reprint by end-2027, the exit is a strategic sale. Bear: Shopify launches native, one regulator names Route, next round prints below $1.4B — AfterShip, Extend or a warranty incumbent buys at a haircut. Bull: Shopify’s roadmap moves elsewhere, loss ratio holds, Route becomes the post-purchase IPO of the decade.

How to attack it

Unbundle trust from the checkout widget. The attackable seam is the gap between Route’s merchant pitch (2-2.5% attach, no merchant work) and the buyer-facing reality (a persistent BBB / Trustpilot denial pattern plus a Utah Insurance Department warning mapping to the category). A challenger builds a Shopify-native protection app that publishes auditable claim-payout metrics at checkout — median-payout time in hours, denial rate, average claim value — and settles legitimate claims inside a same-day SLA against a fully underwritten policy from a licensed carrier (Chubb, Assurant, or an Argo-style specialty writer). The merchant pitch is CAC-preserving trust: same 2-2.5% attach economics, defensible CX story that survives a Shopify Plus brand’s review of Route’s BBB profile.

Exploitable weaknesses: (a) ~90% Shopify shipping-tech visibility per StoreInspect is a platform-risk footnote, not a moat — Shopify eats the concentration; (b) two CEO changes in three years and three layoff rounds in 30 months signal an operating rhythm not compounding; (c) the BBB and Trustpilot denial pattern is a permanent public record a challenger can quote in every Shopify Plus sales conversation; (d) ~$260-290M cumulative equity is a modest war chest against a Shopify roadmap decision or an Extend / Cover Genius move; (e) the $100M 2023 revenue number is unaudited, giving a well-capitalised entrant room to publish real unit economics and force Route to respond; (f) Route’s tracking product is the acquisition surface — a challenger shipping materially better tracking UX (native Shop-app integration, iMessage handoff) takes the top of the funnel; (g) Shopify-app switching costs are effectively zero.

Adjacent-segment play

The licensed embedded-insurance stack sold to buyers Route doesn’t chase. Same core capability — a Shopify-native embedded-insurance widget wired to a licensed underwriter — repackaged for three adjacencies. First, product warranty: sell Extend-style warranty at checkout as a Shopify-app SKU priced for SMB and mid-market Shopify Plus brands Extend does not serve. Route has not integrated warranty; Extend has not built a real Shopify-app UX.

Second, cross-border shipping insurance. US-to-Canada, US-to-EU and US-to-UK shipments have materially higher loss rates than domestic; Route’s international coverage is thin and one-size-fits-all. A cross-border-only protection app priced dynamically on lane, carrier and destination wins that sub-segment (Global-e, ESW, Reach are the buyers).

Third, returns-plus-protection bundle. Loop has returns and is adding Protection; Route has protection and is adding returns (Frate, Jan 2026). Neither owns both cleanly. A challenger bundling licensed protection with a Loop-quality returns engine at ~1.5-2% of cart (consumer-paid premium plus merchant subscription) is the natural third pole in Shopify post-purchase — the play Corso is inching toward and neither Route nor Loop is executing.

Sources and further reading

Capital history

DateRoundAmountValuationLead(s)
2019-2020 Seed and early follow-on Undisclosed publicly; cumulative pre-Series-B reported at ~$48.5M per Utah Business (March 2022) including angel participation from Justin Timberlake Not disclosed Angel and seed syndicate
2020-08-04 Series A Amount not publicly disclosed Not disclosed Craft Ventures led (Jeff Fluhr's 'Why Craft led the Series A in Route' Medium post); Upfront Ventures participated
2022-01-20 Series B $200M $1.25B post-money Eldridge Industries led; Madrona Venture Group, Riot Ventures, Banner Ventures, FJ Labs, Endeavor, JAWS Capital and 75 & Sunny Ventures participated
2024-06-25 Series C $40M $1.4B post-money (Fortune, PR Newswire) Hanaco Ventures led; JAWS Ventures, Madrona Ventures and Granger participated

Investors / owners: Hanaco Ventures, Eldridge Industries, Madrona Venture Group, Craft Ventures, Upfront Ventures, Riot Ventures, Banner Ventures, FJ Labs, Endeavor, JAWS Capital / JAWS Ventures, 75 & Sunny Ventures, Granger, Justin Timberlake (angel)

Competitive set

  • Shopify Shop app and Shop Pay ecosystem (NYSE: SHOP) — The existential threat, not a peer. Shopify's Shop app (rebranded from Arrive in 2020) pulls tracking data directly from USPS, UPS, FedEx and DHL and pushes buyer notifications natively. Shop Pay owns the checkout surface Route's ~2-2.5% package-protection upsell depends on. Shop Promise already bundles delivery guarantees into merchant flow. Every incremental native post-purchase module Shopify ships is a direct market cut for Route. Route's ~90% share of Shopify shipping-tech visibility per StoreInspect is exactly the concentration Shopify eventually harvests.
  • Corso — Post-purchase platform pairing shipping protection with verified carbon offsets, sold to Shopify merchants. Positions as a 'green' Route substitute — same consumer-paid attach mechanic with a differentiated ESG story. Smaller than Route but the closest architectural clone.
  • Extend — New York API-first product-warranty platform, founded 2019 by Woodrow Levin. Raised ~$386M including a $260M Series C at $1.6B (May 2021, SoftBank Vision Fund 2). Same 'consumer-paid protection at checkout' merchant budget from the post-delivery side (warranty) rather than in-transit (shipping). If either bundles the other's product, they collide.
  • Cover Genius (XCover) and Assurant — Cover Genius is the Sydney/New York embedded-insurance platform underwriting cargo and shipment coverage for marketplaces, carriers and 3PLs. Assurant (NYSE: AIZ, ~$10B market cap) is the incumbent balance-sheet carrier in shipping and warranty protection. Either could commoditise Route's insurance economics by going direct to the merchant.
  • AfterShip and Parcel Perform — AfterShip (Hong Kong / Shenzhen) is the pure-play tracking incumbent with 1,000+ carrier integrations, a returns portal and a shipping-insurance module. Parcel Perform (Singapore, Cambridge Capital-backed) is the AI-first enterprise delivery-experience platform. Both compete on tracking; neither has built consumer-facing checkout attach into a real insurance book.
  • Loop Returns, Narvar and parcelLab — Post-purchase adjacencies. Loop Returns (Shopify-first returns/exchanges from ~$155/month, adding Checkout+, Protection and Loop Intelligence AI) is the Shopify D2C returns leader moving into Route's surface. Narvar is the enterprise suite fronted by NAVI. parcelLab is the European enterprise incumbent. Any of the three can add package protection as a module and take Route's attach revenue from inside a merchant relationship.
  • InsureShield / UPS Capital and legacy shipping-insurance carriers — The pre-DTC incumbents Route disintermediated. UPS Capital's InsureShield is the balance-sheet-backed shipping insurance most Fortune-500 shippers still use for freight and enterprise parcel. On price and claim-payout reliability they are the alternative merchants revert to when Route complaint volume piles up.